Jump to HeaderJump to Main ContentJump to Footer
Michigan State University
Michigan State University
D2LHelp

D2LHelp

  • Digital Hub
  • |
  • MSU Documentation
  • |
  • D2L Documentation
  • |
  • Training
  • |
  • D2L Retention
  • |
  • D2L's Known and Fixed Issues
  • |
  • FAQ
D2LHelp
  • Digital Hub
  • MSU Documentation
  • D2L Documentation
  • Training
  • D2L Retention
  • D2L's Known and Fixed Issues
  • FAQ

< Digital Hub

< MSU Documentation

< D2L Documentation

< Training

< D2L Retention

< D2L's Known and Fixed Issues

< FAQ

D2L Help > MSU Documentation > Course Space Creation and Customization >

Merge D2L Courses and Sections

Merge D2L Courses and Sections

Michigan State University

NEED HELP?

  • MSU IT Service Desk
  • D2L Request Form

D2L AT MSU

  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Known Issues

PHONE

Local: (517) 432-6200 Toll-free: (844) 678-6200 (North America and Hawaii)

NOTICE

If you notice any help page that has incorrect information or is outdated, please contact us.

If you're having accessibility issues, please let us know.

Michigan State University
  • Contact Information|
  • Site Map|
  • Privacy Statement|
  • Site Accessibility|
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855|
  • Visit: msu.edu|
  • Notice of Nondiscrimination|

SPARTANS WILL|© Michigan State University|

Faculty teaching multiple sections of the same course can merge them in D2L, combining enrollments into one course shell. Students from all sections access the same content, and instructors can filter by section using “View by” tools in Classlist, Grades, and Assignments. If course content differs significantly between sections, merging is not recommended.

Things to note before merging your courses:

  • The merge process requires that all selected sections be completely empty of course material and content. This includes content files, quizzes, assignments, discussions, etc. If there is already content in the course, you will need to remove it, either manually or by using the Course Reset tool.
  • Course content is not copied into the newly created course.
  • Student data (e.g., grades, discussion posts) is not transferred to the new course.
  • You must be Course Administrator in each of the courses you intend to merge.
  • Communities, Development, and Non-credit courses cannot be merged at this time.
  • After the merge, the course code will include the word “merged” where the section was previously located.
  • Special characters are not allowed in course titles. You will receive an error if your title includes any special characters.
  • You will not be able to unmerge a course after it is merged.
    Note: If you believe you may have merged courses incorrectly, or forgot to include a course section in your original merge, please contact the MSU IT Service Desk at (517) 432-6200 or https://ithelp.msu.edu.

What does it mean to merge courses?

You can simplify course management by merging selected courses into one central course. This moves all enrollments into a new course space. Original sections stay in D2L but are marked inactive by default, so students can’t access them unless reactivated. Course Admins and Editors still have access to the original sections.

How do I merge my courses?

  1. From your D2L homepage, select Merge Courses below the "My Courses" heading. You will be taken to the D2L Course Merge landing page.
  2. Select the semester containing the courses you’d like to merge.
    Note: Only the current semester, plus the next two consecutive semesters will be visible.
  3. Provide a title for the new merged course.
  4. Select the courses you’d like to merge.
    Note: Courses that include any content will appear grayed out and you will be unable to select these courses until all content has been removed.
  5. Select Merge Course Sections.
  6. You will receive an email once the merge has been completed.

What if my course already has content?

If your course already has content, you’ll need to clear it before merging. Be sure to back up materials to another course space before deleting them from the sections being merged. You can do one of the following:

  • Create a Development Course, move all content to the dev course, perform the merge, then copy your content back into the merged course.
  • Delete all content from your course, merge your courses, then upload content back into the merged course from a pre-existing backed-up offering.
  • Use the Course Reset tool to permanently remove content.

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact the MSU IT Service Desk at (517) 432-6200 or https://ithelp.msu.edu.