Merge and Unmerge Courses

 

Merging Courses:

This tool does not merge courses that include course content. You must be a course administrator in all of the courses that you intend to merge. Communities and Dev courses CANNOT be merged at this time. The course code will now include the word “Merged” where the section was previously located.

 How it works:

The tool allows you to merge the roster from selected courses into a newly created merge course offering. Select the option to merge courses on the D2L homepage, below the My Courses heading, and you’ll be taken to the course merge tool landing page.

·         Here you will select the semester that the courses are located in that you’d like to merge. (Currently you can only see the current semester, and the next 2 semesters that follow.)

·         Provide a title for your new course and select the courses that you’d like to merge. (Note: Courses that include any course content will appear greyed out on this page. Users will be unable to select these courses until all of the course content has been removed from them. Copy any course content into a dev course in the meantime.)

·         Select “merge course sections” and you’re done! Users will receive an email when the merge has been completed

  Warnings:

If you forgot to select a course section in your initial merge request you cannot process the merge again. Please contact the  MSU IT Service Desk at (517) 432-6200 or ithelp@msu.edu.The request will then have to go to D2L support to have them re-do the merge.  When entering a course name, the system may block you from continuing because you are using special characters. THERE IS NO UNMERGE TOOL! (At this time) These requests will have to go to D2L support as well. You should not be able to see the course sections listed again in the merge tool after a course merge has been done.

If you have any questions or need any further assistance, please contact the MSU IT Service Desk at (517) 432-6200 or ithelp@msu.edu.

Please note that once the merge has been completed, the courses that have been merged in may no longer be available to you. If you have content in any of the courses to be merged in, please copy it to a dev course before requesting the merge.